Strengthening the field of
​Volunteer Management
​ through advocacy, learning,
​and networking.​

Each year, MAVA honours a leader in the field of volunteer resources management through its MAVA Leadership Award. Launched in 1996, the award recognizes an individual who has significantly contributed to the profession through their leadership excellence. Nominations are welcome from all members of the community, provided that the nominee meets the eligibility criteria. The call for nominations is issued yearly in early spring and the award is presented at the MAVA Annual General Meeting.

Award Eligibility Criteria

The award recipient:

  • demonstrates exceptional leadership of volunteers
  • is currently involved in volunteer management field
  • is not a current member of the Award Selection Committee
  • may not receive the award for the same initiative or be awarded in consecutive years
  • cannot be self-nominated

Nominate a Volunteer Management Professional today!

Past Award Recipients

2016 Laverne Leenhouts, Canadian Red Cross
2015 Sharyl Eaglesham, Fort Whyte Centre
2014 Tracy Laluk, St. Amant Centre
2013 Connie Newman, Manitoba Association of Senior Centres
2012 Kelly Seifert, Winnipeg Football Club
2011 Angie Boehm, Health Sciences Centre
2010 Denise Bukowski, Concordia Hospital
2009 Shelly Young, Health Sciences Centre
2008 Nancy Taggart, Health Sciences Centre
2007 Susan Shortill, Misericordia Health Centre
2006 Karen-Denise Cyr, Winnipeg Regional Health Authority
2005 Eltie Pearce, Canadian Blood Services
2004 Sandy Cairns, Health Sciences Centre
2003 Kathy Harrison, CancerCare Manitoba
2002 Suzie Matenchuk, Victoria General Hospital
2001 Judy Lister, Manitoba Museum & Liane Davidson, Health Sciences Centre
2000 Heather Popoff, Winnipeg Boys & Girls Clubs
1998-99 Lenore Good, Health Sciences Centre
1997 Colleen Watts, Health Sciences Centre
1996 Barb Gemmell

© 2014-2017 Manitoba Association for Volunteer Administration